K is for Katie…

Designer Katie Ermilio has been on many a sartorial radar for the past few seasons — mine included! Photographs of her striking collections feature models swathed in effortlessly sleek lines and shapes. Her elegant designs are nonchalantly glamorous, exuding an alluring simplicity and timelessness all their own. Inspired beyond belief by each piece’s exquisite detailing, lasting impact, and utter sense of sheer femininity, we were honored to catch a glimpse into Ms. Ermilio’s brilliant work.

“As you can tell, Iʼm a huge bracelet fan. Included in this picture are: Friendship bracelets by my friends Sarah and Stacy of Frieda and Nellie, Shindo Elastics, bungee cord bracelet (whipped up on the fly by Erica Domesek), Eddie Borgo, and a Michael Kors watch. Rings are Maison Martin Margiela, Sara and Chloe, and thin gold bands found on Etsy.”

How did you get started in the fashion industry? 
I began my career at Teen Vogue where I started as a Public Relations Assistant. Prior to Teen Vogue, I interned anywhere and everywhere I could. I went to NYU, so I had the opportunity to not only study in New York, but also to supplement my coursework with fashion internships.

“This is one of my favorite pieces from the Fall collection. I find myself borrowing this sample to wear constantly…”

Your designs are beautiful and glamorous. Is that a reflection of your style? How would you describe your personal style?
That’s so sweet! I don’t really think of myself that way. Of course I love to get dressed up, but at heart, there’s a total tomboy vibe to the way I dress. There are lots of jeans and blazers in my wardrobe, but I think the relaxed and un-fussy nature of my personal style is absolutely evident in the collections. The clothes have been described as minimal and feminine all at the same time, so I suppose that’s very much true to who I am, both as a designer and in the way I dress.

Where does your inspiration come from when designing for each collection? 
In each collection, I find a consistent source of inspiration in designing for the woman who wear my clothes. With every line, I imagine where the coming months will take her – in her career, her travels, her friendships – constructing a wardrobe around her wants and needs for the upcoming season.

What’s a typical day like for you? 
There is really no typical day in our office, which is one of the things I love most about my job. I’ve learned that being a designer means being an excellent multi-tasker, so I’m always balancing collections, clients, deliveries, design work, you name it.

“I love to get dressed up, but on the average day, youʼll find me in a uniform of jeans, some sort of striped sweater, and my Isabel Marant high tops.”

You interned at Vogue. Do you have any advice for girls looking to land amazing internships in fashion? 
Experience is key – and with that, no experience is too great or too small. We hire interns at our company today and we’re always impressed by those standouts who come to us with a passion for the industry as a whole. In fashion, I believe it’s particularly important to work in all sectors of the industry. For instance, if you want to become a designer, spend time working in retail on a sales floor; intern with a department store buying office, a stylist, and in a designer’s operations department. Public relations firms, marketing and branding agencies, and factoring companies are all amazing places to learn about the business of fashion and how all of its moving parts are connected. Having a sense of the industry in the round is the most important asset in excelling in your career.

What is next for you and your line? 
The Spring 2013 Collection! We are in development for the upcoming season and I could not be more excited to get back to designing. Also look out for hosiery and much more bridal in the months to come!

“Every collection and design I do usually starts with a drawing…Here Iʼm sketching the print inspiration from my fall 2012 collection. By the way, this amazing pen is Caran dʼAche; my assistant Madison got me totally hooked on these!!”

IMAGES AND TEXT SOURCED: http://theglitterguide.com/2012/04/03/shop-talk-katie-ermilio

Leave a Reply

