A oui bit of french…

I know that I have been posting a fair bit recently but that would be because at the moment I am on my semester break (I know I cant believe it either the first semester of this year is almost over, I’m jumping for joy!) and there will be even more  posts in the comming weeks because I will be stuck at home on the couch with my foot in plaster until the 1st of May. Lucky Me.

Recently I have been reading a new book that I found up in the stacks at the RMIT library ‘Parisian Chic’ a style guide by ines de la fressange with sophie gachet.

And its a really great little book, outlining styles and trends that are ‘oh so parisian’ as well as home decore and great shopping in paris and online. there are also some blogs and websites mentioned throughout the book which I have been taking a look at, one of them is http://www.granacedore.com, here is a little bit about her and her blog (from the blog)

I began my blog in June, 2006. I was an illustrator and growing frustrated – with the type of work I was getting, yes, but mostly frustrated because I wasn’t really connecting with the readers of the magazines I was working for. I wanted to do something a little more free, more spontaneous.

I had just discovered blogs and decided it could be a great way to get feedback about my work. I opened my blog and published a few of my drawings, and soon after started adding text to them. I found joy in sharing snippets of my life – what got me thinking, inspired me, or just made me laugh.

That’s how it became quite clear to me that fashion was my dearest subject. I like how often it changes its mind and in it, you can see the passing of time. I like that it’s as beautiful on movie stars as it is on the street because everything is only how you look at it.

That’s why one day, inspired by the photos of Scott Schuman of The Sartorialist, I picked up a camera and haven’t let go since (not to the camera, nor Scott – but I won’t write a novel here, promise.) With the growing and unexpected success of the blog, my passion became a career and I now shoot editorials and ad campaigns. Additionally, I shoot videos, give talks, and consult for international brands. And I love it.

My blog continues to evolve and I with it. I continue to diversify my sources of both inspiration and expression – and it’s all always here, on my blog, which remains my dearest form of expression. It’s where I feel most free, and where, together, my readers and I have created a space we can share. And I cherish that with all my heart.”

What I found on the blog was a lot of beutiful fashion illustartions (Some that were even commisioned for KATE SPADE, yeah she worked with them WOW) so I thought that I would share some of my favourites with you.

enjoy

xx

Leave a Reply

